4th Lifetime Achievement Awards
for Extraordinary Accomplishments in Psychohistory
Presented by Psychohistory Forum
to Distinguished Women Scholars

December 2, 2023, 11am-1:30pm EST
(virtual room opens at 10:30am EST)

RSVP is required (see the RSVP form below)
Zoom link will be provided to you after you complete the form

This is our 4th Lifetime Achievement Awards ceremony at Psychohistory Forum, and it is the 1st one organized around women contributors to psychohistory, with a focus on women and feminist issues/approaches.

The recipients are Nancy Chodorow, Eva Fogelman, Carol Gilligan, and Nancy McWilliams. They were chosen because of their major achievements, and in the case of Eva Fogelman, also her commitment to healing her patients and to the Psychohistory Forum.

Paul Elovitz, Director of Psychohistory Forum and Editor of Clio’s Psyche, will start the meeting with the introduction to the activities of the Psychohistory Forum (1982) and Clio’s Psyche (1994) for those who are unfamiliar with our scholarly ideals and with what we do to achieve them. We will show a short video collage of the prior Lifetime Achievement award meetings. Then, we will introduce a brief listing of distinguished women contributors who, had they been alive, would probably have been recipients of these Lifetime Achievement Awards.

The main part of this meeting will be dedicated to four incredible women, who will be presented by their colleagues/introducers (up to 10 min each), and then the awardees will respond/reflect on what was said, as well as about their psychohistorical influence and work, and the occasion in general (up to 10 min each):

Nancy Chodorow – introducer Jeffrey Prager
Eva Fogelman – introducer Peace Sullivan
Carol Gilligan – introducer Ruthellen Josselson
Nancy McWilliams – introducer Jim Anderson

There will be plenty of time for a Q & A and general discussion.

Short biographies and introductory statements by the introducers of the awardees will be available here soon.

Inna Rozentsvit, Associate Director of the Psychohistory Forum and Associate Editor of Clio’s Psyche, will sum up the meeting and invite colleagues to join in our activities by becoming members of the Forum and writing for our journal.

As a follow-up to the Lifetime Achievement Award, Carol Gilligan’s Festschrift is now being planned.  Festschrifts for other women are also a possibility. Colleagues, family members, and friends are invited to attend this virtual ceremony.




On January 14, 2023, our first awardees were Peter J. Loewenberg, Robert Jay Lifton, David R. Beisel, and Alan C. Elms. For more information, visit https://psychohistoryforum.com/first-ever-lifetime-achievement-award-ceremony-in-psychohistory/.

On March 18, 2023, the following colleagues were the awardees (and who participated in this live ceremony): Lawrence J. Friedman, Howard F. Stein, & Jacques Szaluta. In absentia awards were then presented to Daniel Dervin and Herbert Barry III. For more information, visit https://psychohistoryforum.com/lifetime-achievement-awards-for-extraordinary-accomplishments-in-psychohistory-presented-by-psychohistory-forum/.

On May 19, 2023, during the 46th Annual Conference of the IPhA, we honored C. Fred Alford, David J. Fisher, Daniel Rancour-Laferriere, and William M. Runyan. For more information, visit https://psychohistoryforum.com/lifetime-achievement-awards-for-extraordinary-accomplishments-in-psychohistory-presented-by-psychohistory-forum-may-19-2023/.

We hope you can join us for this event!

Sincerely yours,

Paul H. Elovitz, PhD, Historian, Research Psychoanalyst, Online Professor, Editor, Clio’s Psyche, and author The Making of Psychohistory: Origins, Controversies, and Pioneering Contributors (Routledge, 2018), editor of The Many Roads of the Builders of Psychohistory (2021) and author of over 400 publications. E-mail: cliospsycheeditor@gmail.com.

Inna Rozentsvit, M.D., PhD, MBA, MSciEd, Physician, Neuropsychoanalyst, Neuropsychoeducator, Associate Editor of Clio’s Psyche and Associate Director of the Psychohistory Forum. E-mail:
inna.rozentsvit@gmail.com. Web: www.innarozentsvit.com.